

# Lee County School Board Candidates and Party Affiliation

The Lee County School Board is a non-partisan race. With the 6-1 vote in favor of the District's half-penny sales tax referendum, we have witnessed that the current elected board only has one true conservative serving. Board member, Melisa Giovanelli, could use some conservative support on this board. While I believe we should use caution in using political party

registration as the sole determining factor in who you vote for - considering the current board contains only two registered Democrats - we MUST be informed and elect a board that is fiscally responsible with our tax dollars.

Here is a list of the 2018 School Board candidates, which includes their political party. I trust this will be useful for party leaders, like myself, who must abide by rules pertaining to advocacy for certain candidates and those who have taken an oath not to openly advocate for a non-Republican over a Republican. Please share and get out the VOTE!

## District 1 - Cape Coral

Charles Dailey Republican

Mary Fisher Democrat Incumbent

### District 4 - Portion of Cape Coral and North Fort Myers

Don Armstrong Republican
Louis C Navarra Republican
Debbie Jordan Democrat
Gerri Ware Democrat

#### District 5 - Lehigh Acres

Pamela Lariviere Republican Incumbent

Taruas Pugh Republican
Jon Shudlick Republican
Gwynetta Gittens Democrat
Moses Jackson II Democrat

#### District 6 - All of Lee County

Nicholas Alexander
Lori Fayhee
Betsy Vaughn
Karen Putman Watson
Republican
Democrat
Democrat

Vote by mail Election Ballots for the August 28, 2018 Primary election were mailed to voters the last week of July. If you haven't signed up to receive your ballot in the mail, you may want to request one for the 8-page General Election Ballot in November, which will include 13 Proposed Constitutional Amendments and the Lee County School District's half-penny sales tax referendum.

